ChatGPT and writing

Freelancers, Unite! Use ChatGPT to Optimize Your Work-Life Balance and Personal Growth!

How I use ChatGPT as my personalized Work-Life Balance Coach to unlock my potential as a freelancer

Gayathri
7 min readMar 26, 2023

--

Photo by Nick Morrison on Unsplash

ChatGPT

Jasper.ai

Chatsonic

GrowthBar

Closerscopy

Rytr

Quillbot

….and the list goes on and on

I am sure that as freelancers, we would have heard of and used these AI content generators and content checkers extensively. But have we ever used AI for our development and personal growth?

The answer may likely be a NO. I know it can also be a YES.

As a freelancer, the freedom and flexibility that come with being our own boss are unparalleled. Since most of us work remotely, we have the option of flexibility and getting work done wherever we are.

But, there is a catch.

One of the major responsibilities that come with being a freelancer is managing our workload and maintaining a fine work-life balance. However, many freelancers often struggle to strike a healthy balance between their personal and professional lives, leading to burnout, stress, and decreased productivity.

So, how can we improve our mental and physical health while juggling between our tasks?

That’s where AI comes into play.

As a freelancer who had superbly failed in maintaining a healthy work-life balance previously and trying now to maintain the same religiously, I think I am qualified to provide you with tips on utilizing ChatGPT to optimize your personal and professional growth.

So, with little ado, let me explain how I use ChatGPT to maintain an optimal work-life balance.

1. Managing my workload

Let me tell you something.

I have always sucked at managing my workload.

When I started my career as a freelance writer, I worked for nearly 15 hours every day. I neither took a break nor cared for it.

All I wanted was one thing: to earn money.

That’s it. I had the nagging urge to top my friends’ salaries. I would constantly compare myself with my friends and would push myself every day to stay at the top.

Result: Massive burnout. Exhaustion. My body simply couldn’t take up more.

I was forced to take a break for three years.

So, how am I now managing?

Even now, I struggle to strike a balance. I admit. But, at least, I am consciously taking time out to recharge myself. During work hours, I make sure I take at least a few minutes of break to break the monotony of my work. Here’s how I do it with the help of ChatGPT.

By the way, this is just an example. Some prompts I use include,

“What are some high-priority tasks that must be completed immediately?"

“What are some ways I can streamline my workflow and improve my productivity?”

“What are some tasks that I can automate using technology?”

“What are some tasks that I can batch together to save time?”

“What are some errands that I can do tomorrow?”

I know ChatGPT doesn’t have access to my to-do lists (I use Google Tasks to streamline my everyday chores). However, I can say, ChatGPT provides some useful tips that we can customize as per our needs. For example, if ChatGPT says that non-essential errands like grocery shopping can be done at a later date, I would either try buying them online or delegate the work to another person. Suppose, if neither of those options is possible, I would convert my long break session into a grocery purchase session.

2. Communication with clients

This is an aspect I like the most about ChatGPT. As freelancers, we know how important it is to maintain a healthy relationship with our clients. However, communicating remotely has its fair share of challenges. That’s where ChatGPT helped me massively. With its help, I have tried my hand at generating prompts for emails, pitches, and client interactions. I am not saying that I use AI blindly.

No. I don’t. People are smart enough to differentiate between human- and AI-written content.

I always use ChatGPT to ensure that my message is conveyed to my client effectively, concisely, and persuasively 😉

Here is an example:

Again, this is just an example.

A simple Google search provides us with hundreds of cold-pitch emailing ChatGPT prompts we can use.

But remember one thing: The answers provided by ChatGPT should only serve as an idea of how our pitches and replies should be. They shouldn’t be copied word for word.

3. Reduce stress

Yes, that’s true. I use ChatGPT to keep me sane and grounded.

I can hear you asking ‘But how?’

Here’s how I do it:

I use ChatGPT prompts to create a set of mindfulness and meditative exercises. In this way, I can take some precious minutes off from my work schedule and focus that time on keeping my stress levels low. Sometimes, all it takes for me is some minutes of mindfulness meditation to process my thoughts and write clearly. I know this can sound surprising to some. But, with back-to-back work (both personal and professional), I hardly have time to practice a comprehensive self-care routine.

This is just one prompt I use. If I feel confused or don’t know how to practice mindfulness at work, here’s how I use ChatGPT.

4. Bouncing new ideas

Writer’s block

A hurdle that I meet often.

A hurdle that had hardly allowed me to write consistently.

A hurdle that left me lurching in a creative rut.

As a writer, I often find it hard to come up with new ideas and remain motivated.

Writer’s block simply hits me hard.

Earlier, I know if I am struck by some idea or don’t have enough clarity in proceeding further, that’s about it.

My writing will stop. It can then take hours for me to rearrange my ideas and proceed with the piece.

But with ChatGPT, I no longer get struck.

I use its wide range of knowledge and its capacity for creating stimulating prompts to get feedback on my writing right away. ChatGPT is full of useful advice no matter what kind of writing project I’m working on. In addition, the prompts it offers often stimulate me to consider beyond the obvious and approach my writing in new and exciting ways. ChatGPT ensures that I never experience a lack of ideas or a lack of creativity.

Here is an example:

Last week, I wrote an article regarding the management of finances as a freelancer. So, I used ChatGPT to come up with ideas that I haven’t used. Here is the response generated.

5. Developing my skillset

As a freelancer, it is imperative to stay on top of your game and continuously stay updated.

ChatGPT is a lifesaver in that regard.

Its vast knowledge base and inspiring prompts make it easy to come up with new stuff to research and write. ChatGPT has my back no matter what kind of writing style I’m into, or which niche I’m venturing into.

What’s the icing on the cake?

The prompts it comes up with are always so cool, it really makes learning more enjoyable. If you want to upgrade your career and increase your abilities, give ChatGPT a go!

Here is an example:

The prompt I used: ‘what are some of the skill sets I can learn as a freelance writer? Suggest to me some free but valuable courses I can take to develop my skills.’

The answer provided by ChatGPT was

So there you have it — the power of ChatGPT for freelancers!

It’s amazing to see how a simple AI tool can have such a huge impact on our work and personal lives. By using ChatGPT, we can optimize our work-life balance, reduce stress, improve our communication, and develop new skills. And the best part? It’s all in the palm of our hands! So let’s unite as freelancers and take advantage of this amazing tool to boost our personal growth, improve our work-life balance, and take our careers to the next level. The possibilities are endless, so what are you waiting for? Let’s get started!

If you’re using ChatGPT like me, please let me know in the comments so that I can learn from you :)

--

--

Gayathri

Freelance writer. Solopreneur. A flawed individual who tries to be the best version of herself. Pragmatic. Bibliophile. A proud Indian.